January 14, 2013

  • Mannerisms

    Eating Pho is one of my favorite things to do on a cold day, the morning after drinking, and when I am sick. Hell, I love getting Pho most the time.  For those that are not Asian, Pho is basically Vietnamese Noodle Soup.  Pho is to Vietnam as Pad Thai is to Thailand.  It is one of those dishes that everyone has tried when they say that have had Vietnamese food.  

    Vietnamese noodles are messy.  You have your noodles, your veggies, and the meat.  Also I like to dab some hoisin sauce mixed with siracha as I eat it too.  The problem lies that it is very hard to eat these noodles and add all the goodies in one bit for me unless I slurp.   I will blame my parents for this one because I have never been called out on it until I ate with my very well to do coworker.   While eating with her, she would spin her chopsticks round and round and place it in her spoon.   Carefully choose a slice of meat and some veggies.  Dip her chopstick into the sauce bowl.  Add some soup into her spoon and then put the petite bite into her mouth.  She would do this again and again through our meal.  

    If I did not slow down my eating, I would have been done before she finished her 3rd or forth bite.  I am borderline serious.  

    What I have learned is that the way she sees me eating my noodles tells her a story of my upbringing and my values.  I think this is silly, but there is definitely some merit behind those statements.  I have learned that I am finally starting to view and see other's mannerisms in certain lights as well.  I don't like it when people do not call or text you back.  I don't like it when people make plans and change last minute. I don't like it when people do not say thank you if you pay for a meal.  I don't like it when people wear white socks to any formal get together.  

    What are some mannerisms you don't like and what are you guilty of?

    One day I might stop slurping my noodles.  Until then, omnomnomnom.  

Comments (16)

  • I LOVE PHO. And yes, the ones you described are pretty annoying. I also don't like it when people rest their feet on the bookrack under your desk and shake their legs. I don't like feeling like I'm in the middle of an earthquake =___= Or when someone's talking, and someone just cuts into the conversation before they finish. I'm guilty of squinting my eyes at someone when I'm trying to concentrate/make sense of what they're talking about. Apparently, it makes me seem angry :(

  • ...hahahhahaa i just want pho now LMAOO!!!and haha Im def not such a neat eater -_-||| 

  • according to my bf I'm 'hopeless babe'

    -_-||

  • really try to work hard on the slurping.  It's one of the most jarring sounds and scene for people around you, and while it is unfair, I and almost everyone I know very much judge it.

  • I'm sure I have quite a few but I won't bother recalling them now. However, what you said about the slurping sound, I remember watching this food-related documentary in the restaurant business once and they actually said something along the lines of it being a "sign of appreciation" -- that the food is that good.  

  • @hilabpartnerxD - you best hurry and book me in febs.  my schedule is getting busy fast 

  • My husband is a slurper and it drives me up the wall. He slurps everything! Yesterday, he was eating cereal at 11pm while I'm trying to sleep and all I hear is slurppppp, slurpppp. I started making slurping noises to show him how annoying and disgusting it is and he said he couldn't help it. I don't like when you hold the door and the person doesn't say thank you. I'm sure there are other things, but I can't think of them.

  • we use our chopsticks to wrap the meat around the noodles. so good!

  • I had pho yesterday. I get broth all over my beard when i eat it.

  • nom nom nom.. slurp ahead. i wont care =P

  • when eating noodle soup slurping is necessary.... 

  • Love me some pho! As far as my personal mannerisms? I need to focus on not using the word like so much.  I was really good about it for a long time but over the past 2ish years it has made a horrible reappearance.  I am big on speech mannerisms, proper grammar, and using tenses correctly. 

  • I have never technically tried pho, but I look forward to it.

  • I lived in Vietnam for two years, from what I saw....Vietnamese people are extremely loud eaters whether they are eating Pho or anything else.  I actually had to leave the room when people were eating every now and then because the smacking and slurping made me crazy!

    If someone commented on how I ate my pho....I'd just say I was eating it the way it was intended lol!

  • you eat your pho how you like!

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment