January 8, 2013

  • Comfort

    "Hi," she texted me early in the morning.  

    It was not a simple text that says Hi, but a giant ridiculous emoticon/image with a picture of a bunny saying HI out of his giant white mouth.  I was so caught off by the whole thing that my mind regressed back into my former self and I almost texted her, "Hey Babe." 

    But the realization that things have shifted far from those former days quickly snap me back into reality as I make my morning commute to work.  


    I have thought about it greatly, the whole thing about being friends with your ex.  And there is something even honorable and impressive about it even though there really should not be, kind of like how we automatically think teachers are better people than people that work in corporate America.   

    And I have asked around on couples that have broken up, people that I look up to.  And there was one person that was able to be best friends with her ex after they broke up.  And for two years they were friends with no strings attached, but that quickly changed when she found the boyfriend that she would soon to marry.  Weeks after her new relationship,  the friendship she had with ex became almost non-existent.

    But the thing with comfort is it quickly falls back into place if you let it.  The conversation from a bystander's point of view almost seemingly seems like the conversation of an aged couple with witty remarks, slight jabs, and deep laughs, of two people that understood the rhythms and flows of one another, knowing when to give and take.

    You realize the slight joy in your heart creeping up inside you and you can't help but smile as you speak to an old familiar friend.   Logic kicks in and you begin the next pause of the conversation with what you know will end the merriment, cutting off the first taste of the morphine drip 4 months down that you told yourself you would deny.

    "How are you and James? You guys celebrate your 3 month?"

    This will be the death blow.  Awkwardness will ensue. Yes, let's talk about your new boyfriend.

    She answers with another emoticon with a bunny saying, "GOOD!" and states they celebrated with a simple lunch.  To your amazement, somehow she continues the flow of the conversation as if she simply told you how the weather was, and you continue the conversation because you have been a chameleon always in your life reflecting the aura and atmosphere of any room or setting. Her ease at which she talks to you continues to move you forward and deeper into the conversation. You remember that you always loved her ability to have the world love her with such ease, while you work to build deep relationships with everyone around you.   

    The conversation dwindles down and you wish each other the best and say things like let's grab lunch sometime hoping the other will not really follow through, the same way we ask people "how's it going," but not really caring about their reply.  


    The night comes and finally you lay in your queen size bed.  A long day's work gave you barely enough time to reflect if you had dinner or not.   The extra space in the bed reminds you of the conversations earlier in the day.  The only thing you know that will help you sleep at night is if you empty your thoughts and pour the words out.  You realize that its 2 am and that it is 2013.  There is nothing to really look back on now.  Any semblance of a friendship will need to be forged months or years from now.  When circumstances completely shift, maybe you will run into each other at a small cafe or a bookstore hardly recognizing each other. And when you do finally recognize each other, you will smile, the same very smile you smiled this morning, a smile of familiarity and comfort.  

     

Comments (16)

  • great post, but it breaks my heart. I'm sorry you're going through this, but it sounds as if you're coping well and you've come to terms with just being friends from a distance. I hope it gets easier. 

  • "a smile of familiarity and comfort"...we can dream, baby, we can dream. 

  • we will see as time unfolds these events. the thing with ex's is that no true friendship can be forged when you really want the friendship. when you no longer care about having a friendship or seeing that person at all really, that's when u actually could have one.
    no matter what happens, you'll be okay. more than okay. =)

  • Wow 4 months doesn't seem like very long to detach from a situation.  It seems like you have a really good presence of mind about it all. 

  • Aww, what a great guy you must be to even care about keeping in touch with your ex, let alone indulging in conversation about her new relationship! Big Hugs to you!! 

  • I think you can be civil or friendly with an ex, but I don't believe in being friends after a break up.  That is, unless you like awkward situations.

  • A great perspective written in a lovely manner. Thank you for sharing. 

  • ...sighssss... yah... :) In the future...

    I think mostly it just makes it too weird for your current bf/gf to have you be close friends with your exs.. :and the familiarity can be dangerous too 

  • I have never been able to remain friends with any of my exes so I don't understand how some people can.  But if you're comfortable with keeping in touch with her, good for you.  :)

  • it's pretty hard being friends with an ex - but like many things, time and the accompaniment of decent fortune helps soothe things into perspective. great post!

  • I have no attachment or whatsoever with my ex - simply too impossible.
    But the funny thing is, whenever there is something coming up, odd that I would pick the phone, ring him and speak of many things as he is the only best friend I got?
    Remember the Whitney song that says ...

    My life's been better

    Since the day I left you boy

    I must admit life's been kind to me

    I went and did the things I said I would boy

    I found someone who loves me for me

    Haven't had much drama since the day that we split boy

    My heart's never been more at ease

    And when I think of all the things you put me through

    Leaving you has been the best thing for me

    So why does it hurt so bad

    Why do I feel so sad

    I thought I was over you

    But I keep crying

    When I don't love you

    So why does it hurt so bad

    Baby I thought I had let you go

    So why does it hurt me so

    I gotta get you outta my head 

    This is how I feel somehow ...

    Understand you good in this, dear!

  • Exes can be friends, even best friends, if the emotions are completely gone. (: However, it does take a very long time, and a period of no contact between the two.

  • hugs.. hope to run into you at pg sometime

  • First - very well written!

    "But the thing with comfort is it quickly falls back into place if you
    let it.  The conversation from a bystander's point of view almost
    seemingly seems like the conversation of an aged couple with witty
    remarks, slight jabs, and deep laughs, of two people that understood the
    rhythms and flows of one another, knowing when to give and take."

    You think there will come a day you two try again?

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment