Month: January 2013

  • Community College

    I signed up for a creative writing course at Mission Community College so I can become a better writer.  Class is fun and it is near a plaza center and my friend Jess and I got dinner beforehand.  

    During roll call, I wrote down the names of the three prettiest girls in the class.  Creeper much? The cutest out of the 3 looks like she is 20 at best, but she is Asian so she is probably 22 right?  I will have to find out. And the other two were alright at best.  

    Sadly though, the prettiest girl in the class is the girl sitting right next to me.  Yes, its my friend Jess.  Fawk life.  

    Oh yeah, I took this class to write better and not check out girls.  You dont understand. I work in contract manufacturing.  Went out with my coworker today for lunch and she was old enough to be my mom.  These were her words!  

    Hopefully my writing does become better from this and hopefully some cuter girls add the class next week.

    One can always hope.  Apparently, that was at the bottom of Pandora's box.  I never knew that until @flashlivesforever_29 left a comment on one of my other posts.  Now I know.  


    "We’re never more beautiful than when we’re most ugly." -Chris Albani

    Watched his Ted talk in class.  Simply amazing.  Humanity is restored a bit through this man's stories.

     

  • Ethnic Trust

    Being Vietnamese is a blessing at times.  I do not know how it is for other ethnicities, but being Vietnamese there is a certain level of trust and loyalty we have towards each other.   I work with another program manager at one of our facilities and we let each other know of inside information and prepare each other for when shit is going to hit the fan.  We share honest opinions about the people we work with and really try to break down the understanding of how to act around certain people.  

    Some people at work should never be trusted and some lessons are just better not learned on your own.  She has been around the company for 5 years and knows a thing or two more than me.  Its a good thing.

    I learned this lesson when I was ten years old on ethnic relations.   Vietnamese people should and will look out for your own.  

    I grew up in government assisted subsidized apartment housing.   Being a child of refugee parents, during that time period there were many Vietnamese children that lived at this apartment complex.  These were some of my favorite memories as a lot of the kids that grew up here still remain to be friends until this day.   

    One day we were playing tag or something in the middle of the street and a couple of my friends and I had some cans of coke in our hands.   One of the kids threw his really high in the air and caught it on the way down.   I was never an athletic kid and even today I am still working on that ryan gosling photoshopped look.  Well seeing how cool my friend was I attempted the same feat.  I threw the can of coke high in the air, but I released late and it arced behind me and  fell into the windshield of this white lady's car and smashed her window.   

    There were at least 10 Vietnamese kids that saw.  We ran over took the can of coke and wiped down the windshield because the can exploded a bit on the window and we all ran.   

    I never got caught for this.   

    If you can't trust you own, what is left in the world?

    #vietnamese #thuglife #childhood 

     

  • Co-op Mode

    I can see how people jump from relationships to relationships. Being single legitimately for the first time in the last decade, I have found a new level of respect for people that are single.

    Life is hard at times and assuming that the relationship brings much more happiness than sadness and problems, a gf or bf can act as a +10 to all stats, or an endurance aura, or a battle cry aura in life.   A good partner can really be the difference when facing some of the most challenging times.   

    And like playing games, there are times when you can't take it and you may pass out and you are out of commission for a bit, but if your partner is still alive all they have to do is touch you and you are instantly revived. 

    Its the simple power of touch sometimes that reminds us we are human and we are in this together.


    I had went to Dine about Town/Restaurant Week last night with the same friend Gloria I took to the wedding.   She is merely a friend and what I like about her is she denies my existence of any semblance of a potential lover.   As we were having dinner,  I was telling her that I went on a dinner with another friend recently and it was surprisingly a very nice restaurant.   I joke with said other friend that she ambushed me on a date.    Gloria then said, "Of course David.   That what your single girl friends are going to do.  They need someone to take them to these nice restaurants.   Except me." She just had to let me know that I am not needed.  She continues, "I usually plan a night with 3 other girls when I want to go to nice restaurants." 

    I never realized it always having a gf and always having someone I could explore things with.   Some things are kind of too nice between friends for the normal world. Luckily, I do not prescribe to many norms and am down to take any friend to a brunch, fancy dinner, or the movies.  The only things is that thought in my mind at the end of the night.  I think to myself that was a pretty romantic adventure had it been with a potential  lover.  

    I do not count these moments as a waste as I am taking the opportunity to really dive deeper with my friendships, but some things are just a bit different.  You dont have that care for each other to succeed in  life in the same way and it isnt two people experiencing an event together, but two individuals experiencing the same event side by side.

     

    Dine about town in SF Nombe.  7 course meal with complimentary taro chips and edamame hummus.   Some highlights were the oxtail with egg, beef tongue, and the tuna sashimi.

     

    We then were a bit adventurous after dinner and had some ice cream from BiRite. Went to Dolores Park in SF after hours.  Played on the slide and the swings and enjoyed the city lights.


    Life is amazing though.  Seeing where we are and seeing where we can be .  All in all, I am very excited for the things to come.   

    #life #process #gloria #sf #love

     

     

     

  • One Thing Remains

    While we were still dating,  I was always the type to take pictures of random moments, because my thought is no two moments are ever the same. You can gather the same people and bring them in a room and gather those same people a week later and things have changed.  Take this same group over a year or two and things are definitely different.  People change.  The relationships between the people change.  Some grow stronger and others have faded with time.  

    She had requested me to send her pictures of her and her grandparents.  I had taken them early on in our relationship and had to dig through some old archives to find the pictures.  Me being the nostalgic type found her pictures and sent them to her and then started to go through all my photos of 2011 and 2012.   I picked out all my favorites of friends and other moments I am fond of so I can upload to FB and maybe print out, when I came across this picture.  

    I smiled.  A real one.  We are still very far from being normal friends, but there is something about love you can never kill and thankfully so.  We won't have our late night chats anymore, our good morning kisses, and our long drives where I hold her hand the whole way.  Love does not really die.  I believe love just takes on different forms. It continues to remain.

    I still am able to smile when I see your face.
    Keep hoping the sun shines favorably on you.
    I do believe whatever you conspire towards,
    The entire universe will help you to achieve.
    You do not have my presence to help you in your endeavors,
    But I send you my spirit who wishes the best for you everyday.
    Good luck old friend.  Keep driving forward and keep smiling.  
    You are on your way as am I ... as am I.

     

  • Sweet Spot

    Her:  I need to connect to more people who want to change the world
     

    me:  I see. Well i need to connect to more beautiful people.  Can we find both in a package?

     
    Her:  Lets find some meet up. I've determined that you're gonna be my person for these things. Promoted! Haha. Jk, but I'm serious.

     
    I used to have a one mold on how I approached all my friendships.  I meet someone and slowly work my way to the core of their life, where I become a best friend.  This has worked in most of high school and college, but post college the rules have changed.
     
    People are busier now and can not always be that friend that is there for you whenever you need it, or that friend that you can call to hang out to shoot the breeze, and a lot of friends are just not down to cuddle as much.  That last point is quite unfortunate.  
     
    The thing that I have learned is I have a new group of friends.  Friends that are highly specialized for certain things.  I have tried to make this one the bff, that is always down to hang and be the person I can talk about anything and everything, but she and I have specialized to something completely different.
    She is the girl I am gonna take over change the world with.  I know it.
     
    Btw, I still have an opening for the specialized friend of cuddling. Any takers?
     
     

  • Wedding: Pictures Blog

    View from the restaurant.

    Paparazzi

    The lucky girl who became my +1 for the wedding.  She was a great date.

    It was a blast catching with old friends from my alma mater, some of which I have not seen for about 4 years.  The bride and groom and all our old friends.

    Sexiest guys at the wedding.  True story.

     

    I think I was trying to poop.

    One of my best friends Kyle and I.  This is our classic pose and we have over 15 photos of us like this over the years.

     

    That sexy guy in the middle is next to get married.  I am crossing my fingers to be one of his groomsmen.  lolz

     

    Great friends. 

     

    The table had about 20-30 tables of people with about ten people per table.  This is all the young and beautiful people there were.   We all took a group picture. 

    A couple of us went dancing in the SF that night and had the time of our lives.

     

     

  • Like an Elephant

    <3
    sometimes you need that feather in your hand
    to believe you can fly
    when you could have done it the whole
    time
    you are my feather
     
     
  • Good Morning Texts

    My friend sends me a  mass text message every day with some uplifting words to carry on through the day.  

    Monday was "Rise and Grind."

    These messages are coupled with  a half naked picture of some Asian girl.  It does make my day a little better.

    "Yum. Tuesday complete!" 

     

     

     

  • Beautiful Girls

    "A beautiful girl can make you dizzy, like you've been drinking Jack and Coke all morning. She can make you feel high full of the single greatest commodity known to man - promise. Promise of a better day. Promise of a greater hope. Promise of a new tomorrow. This particular aura can be found in the gait of a beautiful girl. In her smile, in her soul, the way she makes every rotten little thing about life seem like it's going to be okay."

  • Flu/Cold

    Ahhhh.  It hurts.  I been sick for a week and my drinking of water and plenty of sleep has held back the gates of hell into my body until today.

    My head hurts like I have a hangover.  My nose isn't running that much and my cough is mild at best.  Alright so I am not full blown sick, but I still hate it.   

    Took the day off to not contaminate the rest of the office.  Still working from home.   

    Main reason I stayed home today is I have a wedding to go to tomorrow and I want to tackle this flu today!