March 6, 2013

  • Silver Spoon

    My sister will be giving birth to her daughter, my niece Ellie, in the next 24 hours or so.  I am very excited.  I have not met her, but I love her already.  

    Because no one in my family thus far has been born with a "silver spoon,"  I have bought her one from Tiffany's and Company.  I am also positive her life will have much more than me and my sister has.

    Ellie My Truong. That's my nieces full name.  I love that name so much.  The middle name My is my sister's name.  My means America in Vietnamese.  My parents escaping the political, war-torn Vietnam in 1981 were so ecstatic to finally make it to America that when they had their first daughter, they named her after the country that had so graciously provided them refuge.

    I was having lunch with my much older coworkers today and I did not finish my noodles in my soup.   I eat all my veggies, meats, and drink a good amount of the soup, but I almost never finish my rice or noodles.  I make an effort to eat as much nutrient dense food as possible and rice and noodles do not fall into this category.   In essence, I have nearly cut out all rice in my diet.  I am still a huge sucker for noodles and will still have a healthy amount in my meals.  

    The conversation of the lunch took a turn as they realized I was throwing away my noodles.  One coworker proceeded to tell me a story of how when she goes to Vietnam, she goes to the most rural areas passing out toys and medicinal supplies to the village people and how little they truly have. My other coworker follows up asking me if I have ever been hungry?  "Like starving?" I ask.  "No, never."   They see my diet choice as wasteful and take it to mean I don't know what it means to appreciate what I have. 

    My coworkers are Asian and they are much older and love to teach lessons on life.   They assume my Berkeley-educated, born in America, work-in-a-cubicle self has never known what it is like to grow up not having much.  They think I have had my world handed to me and I was born with a silver spoon.  

    They don't know about being baby and wearing all of my sister's hand me downs.  They do not know that all through elementary, I had one pair of shoes and 3 pairs of clothes for the week.  That even in middle school I still only had enough clothes to have one different shirt a week.   They do not know that as a kid I stood outside of the Second Harvest food bank with my sister and my mother during Christmas to receive the one toy I would get for the year.   They do not know that during the summer when it got too hot, our subsidized apartment housing with its lack of air conditioning got so hot, that my mom would take us on a 20 minute walk to Mervyn's so we can escape the heat.   They do not know that I worked 3 jobs simultaneously during high school.  They don't know in college I lived in the living room with no privacy of a one bedroom apartment to save money.  And they don't know that every month of my professional career I give my parents money for rent, spending money, and groceries.  

    I simply hold my tongue and listen.   

    So I never had it that easy.  I am not saying I had it hard, but my life was never that with a silver spoon. But Ellie will most likely have that.  And that makes me happy.  

    Her nursery room with crib vs my nursery room and crib.  And yes I am the one in pink.  

    Ellie, prepare to have the best Uncle ever! 

Comments (23)

  • a lot of kids grown up with a silver spoon will grow up as spoiled brats.  you're probably a better person because of the hardships you've went through.  Even if I end up with tons of money, my kids are going to know the value of self-sufficiency and fiscal pragmaticism.

  • congrats on the new addition to the family. the little girl already got her first piece of tiffany before she is even born. love it! i just got my first tiffany necklace this valentine's day lol

  • I never grew up with a silver spoon and even now, i'm still busting my butt to get ahead and live a better life. I honestly think growing up with a hard life shaped me to be who I am today and it made me really be thankful of what I had. I watch my niece who is 2 now and she's so spoiled bc my brother wants to give her everything he's never had. I don't know if it's going to change when she's older but I see the reason why he's doing it. 

    Btw...congrats of your niece who's still waiting to come into this world. I have a niece too and she's the love of my life. I love love her to death bc she's so precious and whenever I have a bad day, she always makes me smile...you're going to love it. 

  • Aww, congrats! 

  • Noodles and rice are commoner foods, which, as you mention, only serve as filler and not so much nutrition.  Give them your noodles and see if they want all the extra carbs.  The only thing I don't waste is meat, because something actually had to die for it.

  • Don't spoil her too much!

    I run into the same dilemma with food too. Back in the day I use to eat nothing but rice and everything with rice because its cheap and it fills me up. I'm talking about soy sauce and rice, cheese and rice, eggs and rice, even potato chips and rice! Now meals feel funny if 50%+ of it isn't pure carbs. I want to eat healthier but eating 'bad' is so much cheaper! 

    'They don't know.... '
    Good sir, that was inspirational.

  • Yay congratulations! I live in the livingroom too! Not so fun lol. But I'm not gonna lie, this post gave me warm fuzzies. You are indeedy going to be a good uncle (: Just don't spoil her too much!

  • 'Finish your rice there are starving kids in North Korea" - my uncle. American portions are the main culprit. Don't see anyone wasting food in Tokyo.

    Congrats on the new addition to your family!

  • I find it really interesting when people compare their hardships to another person's, as if one is "harder" than another. Everybody experiences difficulties in their own ways - even ones with a silver spoon. Although she may not have to worry about secondhand clothing, lack of air conditioning, and the like, she will have to deal with other things that could come along her way - identity issues, issues of privilege, etc. These are the things I think about often because I wasn't one of those kids. I wasn't well off or spoon fed, but I was well-cared for and even now, I'm well-cared for and I'm grateful for that experience, just like I'm sure Ellie will be too.

  • I believe a lot has to do with perspective. I mean, I grew up in the ghetto ghetto ghetto as a toddler - teenage years because my family immigrated here. I am sure we were dirt poor. I mean, my brother constantly reminds me how poor we were. Do I remember being poor ever? No I don't. I had a REALLY REALLY REALLY happy and fulfilling child hood. We went to the park and the beach ALL the time (cuz it was free probably haha) and the fire house presents we got around Christmas were SOOOOOOOOO awesome. It really doesn't take money to impress little kids. You can buy them a $200 electric car, then watch as they play with the dirty card board box it came in. 

    And I am sure there are children of millionaires who remember a horrible childhood for whatever reason. 

    There are lazy brats in all income brackets. Just like there are good charity-doing kids in all income brackets. 

    I hate it when people assume you're a wasteful person when you don't eat all your food. I mean, unless you were intentionally ordering extras to be wasteful. Usually portions are REALLY big. I can only finish about a 1/3 of a meal until I am stuffed. Am I supposed to force feed myself? And sometimes, food tastes like shit. I am not going to eat it and feel sick later. We have the luxury of plentiful food, we can focus on things like healthy foods and choices :)  

  • Oh how wonderful!! I hope you post pics of your new precious niece! :)

  • i wanna bean bag crib! :D

  • love the room, so beautiful... :)

  • congrats bud. being an aunt/uncle is the greatest feeling :)

  • @youngvan - you wrote a mini blog on my blog. thanks van!  

  • @viet1_n_only - you are horribly in college! lolz 

  • Congratulations to your family on the newest addition! I love that you shared your sister's name and why your parents chose it, so neat. It's funny how people who see a glimpse of us seem to think they truly know so much about us. They have us all figured out and they've imagined the life we lived, but they most of the time, they could not be any further from the truth. Your niece is going to have you wrapped her finger! My niece is three, spoiled, a bully, and cute as can be. I love her so stinking much. You will love being an uncle! I love her nursery, so pretty.

  • aw! baby ellie is so loved already! 

    but to your point, i was never born with a silver spoon, though that doesn't discount all the hardships my family had to go through when we first moved here, but i think that teaches me much more about the value of family and money. of course for my future child, i would want to spoil them as much as i can, but i still wonder if there's a balance that can be maintained with providing them with the best while teaching them all that i've learned through my childhood.

  • you're amazing.

    I love the name ellie.  If I were to have a girl, I wanted to name her that.
    People could learn a lot from you.

  • @Manbeast - Lol! I haven't written in my OWN blog in a long time. It is manifesting itself onto other people's blogs!

  • I totally see it your way. To be fair to your cöworkers, they were on automatic and made literally thoughtless comments ie comments without the least bit of thought. Very strong and smart of you to just say nothing at the time. Later tell them your side in a way that inspires rather than is confrontational. You can't mail the noodles, and its more of a waste to put unnecessary carbs in.

  • i think you can order your food without or with less of a certain thing. i'm sure they would be glad to not put as much food in your order, or perhaps exchange it for extra veggies?

  • david, this is such a powerful post, especially the part about what people do not know. i can relate very much to this. 

    be that as it may, i have seen you (even in my last blogging incarnation) as a very motivated and ennobled person. now that your niece is here, i think that she will compliment that hard working side of you with an extra dose of being able to appreciate childhood. 
    congratulations to your sister and the family. and also, congratulations to you. I know you will teach her well!

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment