February 23, 2013

  • Bad Reviews

    I wrote this really bad review about this General Manager at this gym my friends go to.  

    http://www.yelp.com/biz/city-sports-club-san-jose#hrid:e_4LOJIf3vvWWkuiN6vRww

    And I am not sure how I feel about it.   I am not the type to bad mouth someone, but at the same time this guy is pretty annoying.  There are ton of reviews about how bad their customer service is from this GM.

    I wrote the review and he read it right away, because my cousin goes to the gym and the GM talked to my cousin asking, "I guess David doesn't want to come to this gym then."

    And I don't want to come to that gym as much as my friends are already working out there and its convenient.

    Should I take down the bad review or should I talk to the GM and work out something?  

    Btw, can anyone that is yelp or yelp elite like upvote my reviews? I am working on becoming yelp elite.  :D 

Comments (12)

  • I read the review and I don't think you're saying anything too terrible. If you're feeling uncertain though, maybe you should take it down, and give Sam another chance.

  • Well even if you take it down, he will still think that you hate him. Do you really think that you can work out something with him? If you do attempt to work out something with him, you can always amend the review or delete it. But I find it kinda weird that he read it and kinda confronted your cousin about it. Awks.

    Also, Moe is gonna hate you lol.

  • @hilabpartnerxD - i will be yelp elite by the time i post a comment lolz 

  • Yelp reviews are a bit tricky. Businesses can take them VERY personally and get extremely defensive instead of taking it as an improvement. And sometimes I think (not say you as I did not read your review) reviewers are melo-dramatic and caught up in their own thoughts that the reviews come off much worst than the experience. It's like people use Yelp to seek passive revenge. 

    I once wrote a bad review for a car dealership service because I left so disgusted. And I kid you not, 30 minutes later the guys called me on my cell phone (which they must have pulled from my records considering Yelp does not give out phone numbers) to bitch me out and tell me how wrong I was and they have a problem with me and how it "didn't even go down like that." 
    Now I adopt this positivity attitude so I don't write bad Yelp reviews anymore. Just great ones! :D

  • personally i dont think you should have specifically pointed sam out by name.  after all, you are reviewing a business, not this particular person.  i would keep the review but think to omit his name.  either way he's already seen what you wrote, so it's already pretty awkward as it is XD  it's probably better to confront him in person about this, and if it still doesn't work out, then you can update your review and forget about signing up for that gym altogether :)

  • If the GM working there is enough to bother you, then don't go. But if it doesn't - then why not? Also, if you are really dissatisfied with his service, talk to someone higher up in the corporate change so that no one else will experience what you experienced.

    And a 3-star review is bad? Hahaha. I was expecting to see a 2 or 1-star review!

    P.S. There seems to be an old picture of you in your Yelp profile...

  • you're going to need to write a lot more reviews. its hard becoming elite in the bay area. you probably need to write at least 2 reviews a week. 

  • I leave bitchy-ass reviews all the time.  If a place deserves it, of course.  I'm brutally honest and honestly don't care what people think of my reviews.  I even have random workers leave me "compliments" about my reviews.  I also leave glowing reviews for establishments who deserve it. It's just Yelp!

    Keep on Yelping! Getting Yelp Elite isn't THAT hard. Remember to leave comments on other people's pages too. This will help you get the Elite status faster :)

  • nah dude, i would leave it. if i owned a gym, I wouldn't want some rude general manager making the business unbearable for existing and thus potential customers. 

  • Leave it up! Getting yelp elite isn't too difficult. I'm one :) just apply to be one after you've been active for awhile

  • I wrote the meanest yelp review the other day. and I am never mean on those things lol. It was the most disgusting-est sushi place ever. I wouldn't even call it sushi. 

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment